The Pros and Cons: Mobile, Commercial or Home-based Salons

20Feb10

Which one to choose?

In a previous article we discussed how to find a good groomer, but how do you choose which kind of shop would work best for you and your pet? Below I’ve outlined some of the commonly cited pros and cons of several types of grooming salons so that you can determine which works best for both of you!

Commercial Salon

Pros:

  • Open more hours than most other salons
  • Multiple groomers to try-out
  • Someone to groom your dog if you groomer becomes ill

Cons:

  • Many dogs there at once
  • Possible wait time for your dog in a kennel
  • Less one on one time with your pet and the groomer
  • Have to drop off and pick up your pet
  • Pet spends more time away from home

Home-based  Salon

Pros:

  • Homey atmosphere
  • Usually single person operations so your pet always has the same groomer
  • Often one on one appointments
  • No large amount of dogs in one area
  • Groom usually takes less time
  • Low stress environment

Cons:

  • Have to drop off and pick up your pet

Mobile Salon

Pros:

  • Groomer comes to you
  • One on one appointments
  • Groom takes less time
  • Grooming done in your home
  • Low stress environment

Cons:

  • More expensive than Home or Commercial Salons
  • Usually less flexibility with scheduling

Have something to add from your experiences? Leave me a comment and I’d be happy to add it!

3 Responses to “The Pros and Cons: Mobile, Commercial or Home-based Salons”

  1. I have been utilizing this clipper for my Standard Poodle for about
    6 months now – I do his toes and experience at
    minimum after a thirty day period – and it is excellent for all
    our demands. I have never ever taken him to a groomer, and have had present puppy friends and
    pro groomers notify me he appears wonderful with just the clipping we do with this clipper.
    All clippers will get very hot – it is simply a regulation of physics: two pieces of metallic rubbing with each other at high speed leads to warmth.

    I have extra blades and a moist fabric nearby when the blade receives sizzling.
    If you find the clipper “drags by means of the coat” it could be the exact same thing
    that occurred to me when I first got it – the blade wasn’t snapped down into position correctly
    and it wasn’t clipping at all. For my Poodle, this clipper is
    fantastic, and the price can not be defeat!
    I had never clipped either pet or human prior to, but decided to try out carrying out my Normal Schnauzer at property.
    He is the terror of all nearby groomers: they complain that he struggles the
    total time, so it really is been a headache for
    them and pricey for me. Right after researching residence-use
    clippers at the Groomers BBS, I decided on this Andis clipper set and I am delighted.

    It is so silent that my pet all but ignored it (except all around his ears) and it reduce via his really shaggy coat like butter.
    This clipper produced simple a occupation that I had feared would be disastrous.

    The comb attachments support to blend in the quick and extended coat regions on the Schnauzer.
    I followed the guidance of the pros and bought an added blade so that I could swiftly
    swap them as they grew scorching.

  2. There is a sound that most humans will experience many times in life, that,
    despite being perfectly ordinary and extremely frequent,
    never fails to awaken a soul-crushing sadness deep
    within our minds. This is the precise feeling that stirred me each
    morning, as my alarm clock stirred me from sleep.

    I awoke as if my alarm clock had unexpectedly poked me with
    a cattle prod. My eyes shot open, while my body catapulted
    itself out of bed. I stood for a moment, surveying my immaculately clean, and meticulously
    modern bedroom, and allowed my mind a chance to catch up with my movements.
    My girlfriend managed to stay sound asleep through this fiasco, and
    looked peaceful as ever. I glanced at the clock, and like
    many other mornings before this one, realized my scramble to wake up and get going was fruitless.
    I was up early, and there was no need to rush. The
    real urgency was coming from my own personal rush to break away from
    my horribly mundane existence.
    My name is Justin Rylands, and my life is not bad by any means.

    I am 27 years old with a Bachelor’s degree in Business
    Administration from Princeton. My father, Drew Rylands, was responsible for
    starting one of the most successful dental technology distribution warehouses in the United States,
    and this provided me with a guaranteed, top dollar sales position since the
    day I exited my mother’s womb. I have a sought-after career, a beautiful girlfriend, an
    apartment that looks like a Home Goods catalog came to life, and a picture perfect family.

    I was not rebellious growing up, and I equate this to my wealthy upbringing,
    and well-structured, loving parents. I was always handsome, and intelligent.
    I was dedicated to school, and sports, and rarely ever distracted by girls.

    I was disinterested in parties, and the counterproductive activities my peers got off on.
    I was a born success story. I was everything any parent could ask
    for, and they were well aware of this. I was nothing at all like my insurgent older brother who’d flown the coop when I was 13.
    My parents had convinced me that, “Andy went away for college, because that’s what
    young men do when they turn 18.” But I knew this was a lie,
    even as a child. My brother was an absolute shit head, and I was a firsthand witness to his teen years full of underage drinking and cutting class.
    I can recall numerous late nights that ended
    in my mother sobbing on the couch while my father was on the
    phone explaining to the cops what crime his hooligan son
    got himself caught up in now. It was not until I was 17, and overheard a phone call between my brother and father,
    that I finally discovered Andy had run off with a group of
    glass blowing hippies who crafted marijuana pipes and
    travelled the country with the small amount
    of money they made selling these “art pieces”.
    I was never entirely able to grasp why this lifestyle brought my brother so much joy,
    but after 4 years of this perpetuating 9 to 5 grind, I started
    to wonder if Andy had the right idea after all.
    “Morning Boss,” I said, half-joking to my father upon stepping into his office.

    “Ah, my son! Bright and early as always. Just like your father.” He clapped his hand on my back and gave me that
    classic, fatherly grin. “I’ve got a project for you.” I cringed.

    I figured this meant I’d be planning another painfully boring charity event
    for inner-city children with no dental insurance.
    To read more, register on my site to receive the free kindle
    or whatever other format book!

  3. ムダ毛が多くて悩みを抱えている方は、すぐ体質改善を試していきましょう。大豆等に内包されているイソフラボンは女性ホルモンと同じようなものなので、毛が薄くなる効果があるでしょう。納豆や豆腐、豆乳などをしっかりと摂取して、体毛の生えにくい体質を作っていきましょう。


Leave a Reply

